Challenge Accepted

First, I would like to take a moment and remember the tragedy that bestowed Boston yesterday… I can’t even begin to imagine being in that situation.

On to happier news…

Triathlon

I completed my first training day for my triathlon on June 16th! I haven’t officially registered yet because I’m not sure if I’ll be able to keep up with the training as finals quickly approach, but I am extremely determined.

Why a tri?

I have never done a triathlon before, but I have worked at the past two spring triathlons at the Rec-Plex, which of course lit a spark and I decided I would eventually try one. I’m not a swimmer (or even a biker!) but I’m up for the challenge! I’m also really looking forward to the summer body that will come along with it! 

Image

Marathon

On Sunday, I decided I was going to run my first marathon in fall, but I looked up the Chicago Marathon and I noticed that registration was already closed unless I registered through a charity. I looked up what would be required of me by running for charity, and I decided to accept the challenge. I decided I’m running for the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation because my second cousin has this disease. In short, cystic fibrosis is a disease that affects the lungs and digestive systems, and the average lifespan is in the late 30s. You can learn more at:  http://www.cff.org

But what’s required of me?

I must raise $1,300 for CFF by a month after the marathon, but I would personally like to raise it by marathon day. This is where I would appreciate any and all help… Please consider making a donation to the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation through me at the following website:

http://www.cff.org/LWC/dsp_DonationPage.cfm?idEvent=23883&idUser=634613

I am really nervous about this marathon since it will be my first, but I am more determined than ever considering what happened yesterday in Boston. Training will start mid-June for the marathon on October 13th!

Image

Half Marathon

Since training for the marathon will require running the distance of a half marathon, I’ll also be running one around August 3rd! Any recommendations of where I should go?

Image

Overall…

I am thrilled about all of the challenges ahead of me! I have never pushed my body this much and I am extremely excited!

Please keep Boston in your prayers…

Leave a Reply

