A Different Type of Freedom

Fourth of July. July Fourth. Independence Day. Whatever you want to call it, this date is celebrated here in the United States as the anniversary of the day the Declaration of Independence was approved and the Thirteen Colonies gained independence from Great Britain in 1776. (I’m not a history buff, so thank you for bearing with me during my “one sentence history lesson!”) Today, I am thankful for the independence and freedom I have here in the States, but IMG_0547.PNGI can’t help but think about a more significant freedom I have, a freedom I yearn for others to experience and I pray they find: freedom in Christ.

Flashback: Wednesday, June 22nd. I was absolutely filled to the brim and overflowing with joy. I was unexplainably elated, crying happy tears with no names. All I could utter was praise to God.
I tried to hold back the tears, but to no avail. And that was okay. When I finally got the tears under control, I walked into church and completely lost it again when two young boys in my mlkidz class ran up to me and hugged me. After having some alone time crying and offering praise, I held it together for mlkidz and continued on through the evening. I was thankful to see two of my good friends during service, who also helped me process through these crazy (but good!) emotions. It wasn’t until the next day that I was able to put words to my emotions: I was feeling total freedom in Christ instead of bondage in sin.

Here’s my point: I can’t explain the freedom found in Christ to someone who hasn’t experienced His love. My heart hurts for people who do not know Christ, both in this country and out. I daily pray for people, both people in my life and people I have never met, to experience Christ’s love and freedom. Tonight as everyone celebrates the freedom of this country, I can’t help but wonder what it would look like if the whole world were celebrating freedom in Christ. I picture it being absolutely beautiful, a beauty that cannot be described.

Leave a Reply

