“Okay God, I’ll go.”

“’Be still and know that I am God. I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth!’”      Psalm 46:10

To “be still” is so counterintuitive to what society screams at us. We live in such a “go-go-go” world where to pause and rest seems like a foreign act. Being still is continuously a struggle for me. It never fails, I try to control my life, which only leads to more stress and anxiety until I repent and surrender to God.

This happened to me in the recent past. I reached a point of being overwhelmed by stress and shutting down. I’ve been watching every facet of my identity begin to crumble, leaving me to discover my sole identity in Christ.

How so?

I’m leaving the comfort of a full-time job to return to school and seek a part-time job.

I’m moving out of my parents’ house to be closer to school.

I’m changing to a different church body to be able to serve in the community in which I’ll be living.

I’m experiencing the strong single woman identity I’ve built for myself come crashing down.

I’m volunteering with an organization that tugs at my heart and is leading me to Africa.

God has undeniably orchestrated the timing and presentation of each of these changes, yet I have still tried to maintain a false sense of control. It wasn’t until I metaphorically threw my hands up and said, “Okay God, I’ll go” that I found full peace in my changing life.

Now you may be asking, “Go where?” My surrender to God was specifically in regards to following His lead to change church bodies, but as I’m typing this, I’m realizing there is so much more tied into this action of going.

So once again, “Go where?”

To go where God leads me.

To exalt Him among the nations.

To exalt Him in the earth.

The simplicity of the words used in my response does not grasp the depth of the meaning. To go where God leads me means to trust the unknown, to be okay with only seeing the next step in front of me and nothing further, to let go of control.

Here’s where I need your help. In the midst of so many life changes, I have also felt called to serve in Uganda and Kenya August 12th-27th with Under the Same Tree. In regards to the timing of this trip, I am already so in awe of God: I’ll be leaving one week after moving into my apartment and returning the day before classes begin. My goal is to be fully funded by the end of July. I need to raise a total of $4,000, which breaks down to $1,000 per week. This amount will serve to provide my airfare, housing, and food, along with a donation to Under the Same Tree. Will you please prayerfully consider financially supporting my time in Africa? I would also love to meet with each of you one-on-one to talk more about this opportunity. Please check out my GoFundMe page for a simple place to financially support me and also track my progress and updates! https://www.gofundme.com/send-erica-to-africa

Please let me know if you have any questions!

Much love,

Erica

Leave a Reply

