Why Under the Same Tree?

Hi friends!

I’m only one week into fundraising to serve in Kenya and Uganda with Under the Same Tree (UTST) and have been incredibly blessed by your outpouring of love and support! At this moment in time, you all have helped me raise $1,051 of my $4,000 fundraising goal! I am so in awe of God with His provision through you!

In this post, I want to share with you how I was led to serve with UTST (https://www.underthesametree.com/). About a year ago, I was pursuing serving in Africa long-term with a larger organization. Though the application and interview process grew me even closer to Christ, I began feeling unrest in my heart about the path I was pursuing. It was at this point I was introduced to UTST and knew I needed to be part of this team, thus discontinuing my application with the other organization. (More details about this moment in my life here: https://ericagrogg.wordpress.com/2016/10/12/my-journey-to-yes-and-yes-again/).

At this point you may be wondering, “So, Erica, what about UTST was such an appeal to you and continues to tug at your heart?” First and foremost, UTST is Christ centered, striving to provide Gospel-centered programs to the communities it serves and its principles are rooted in fundamentals of the Christian faith. I have noticed a strong emphasis on preserving human dignity while equipping communities to prevent poverty-related vulnerabilities through economic empowerment. Here’s a question I often ask myself that I feel UTST works towards: How do we help people feel more human?

Through my work experience, reading interests, and faith, I have developed a heart for trying to answer this question. I yearn to find ways to help people feel a little more human, to feel included, and to learn how to advocate for themselves. In the time I have served alongside other volunteers at UTST, I’ve picked up on the same heart in each of us.

To wrap up, here’s where I need your help: I still need to raise $2,949. I would also love to meet with each of you one-on-one to talk more about this opportunity. To financially support this opportunity, donating straight to my PayPal account (PayPal.me/EricaGrogg) is ideal in order to avoid extra fees from GoFundMe. That being said, I do also have a GoFundMe account if you feel more comfortable donating via that route: https://www.gofundme.com/send-erica-to-africa. Whichever you decide, please know that your support is an incredible blessing.

Please let me know if you have any questions!

Much love,

Erica

Psalm 67

Leave a Reply

